Center for Popular Music horizontal logo

Advisory Council

Current Members | Past Councils | Bylaws

2014-2015 Members
Michael Fleming Jen Gunderman Doug Howard Mark Allen Jackson Kim Roberts Johnson
Will Leggett Bill Levine Amy Macy Joseph Morgan Rachel Morris
Martha Norkunas Odessa Settles Stephen Shearon Louis Woods  
Select one of the names above to see a brief bio for that council member.

Bill Levine, Professor of English (MTSU)

Dr. William Levine (Ph.D., Indiana University, 1989), whose traditional scholarly field is British literature and aesthetic theory of the long eighteenth century, has regularly taught a general education course on the literature of jazz and the blues at MTSU since 2004. He has written on jazz, the blues, classical, rock and free improvisational music for the Houston Press, the Nashville Scene, American Songwriter, and several other publications. From 2000 to 2010, he produced and conducted over fifty interviews with visiting and local jazz musicians for WMOT-FM. He is currently writing a history of how jazz thinking and practices have impacted popular and art music genres in Nashville from the 1920’s to the present. 

Phone:  (615) 494-8846

CPM banner image on this page includes sheet music cover illustrations from "Owl and the Moon" and "The Wise Old Owl"